A Walk along the Kabini River

The clouds roll in… beckoning, forbidding. Gray.

A storm is coming.

It is flat. Flat, with tinges of red hidden between the short grass, which flickers and changes textures as the wind blows through it.

The horizon is clear, and it feels endless… like all around me are horizons as far as the eye can see.

With a sudden energy I take off at a run, the mud sucking at my shoes, hair whipped by the wind, which rushes through my ears.

I feel free.

I stop, to catch my breath. It’s silent, and the only sound I hear is the sound of my gasping breath. Is this what poets talk about? Is this what painters paint?

Yes.

Kabini is a river that originates from Wayanad, Kerala. It eventually joins the more commonly known Kaveri River. Once a private hunting lodge of the Maharaja of Mysore, Kabini was a popular shikar hotspot for British Viceroys and Indian royalty. Now it is considered to be one of the best wildlife sanctuaries in Karnataka, famous for its spectacular wildlife and variety of birds. Kabini also branches out into the stunning backwaters I experienced.

This year has been one of the hugest droughts seen thus far, and while the water in the river is scarce, the plains stretch for miles, absolutely flat, a perfect line between sky and earth.

And it is the epitome of serenity. Just me, alone… a speck in the fantastic world we live in.

I raise my hands up and feel the wind all around me, lifting my very soul.

And the clouds, that have been warning me for so long, let go…

Hello Rain… I’ve been waiting.

IMG_20160619_095258

 

Leave a Reply

